I received a “My Photo Stream Limit Reached” notification from Apple Photos on OS X. That’s what you get if you use it heavily. A one hour penalty. Others got a 24 hour penalty I gathered from searching the Internet.

That’s not helpful at all. Even counter-productive. The very moment I need it the most, because I’m using it heavily, I get locked-out.